© Ulf Büschleb

animago AWARD 2016: And the Winner is…

Over 1000 international entries competed in this year’s animago AWARD. Only 13 are now able to claim the desired trophy their own. Up-scale, creative & unique: These are the characteristics of our animago AWARD winners.

International projects with months and months of hard work behind them impressed our independent expert jury in this year’s competition for the renowned animago AWARD. It was not an easy task to pick the best projects out of a huge pool of amazing and high-end entries.

Even so – we are very proud to announce the winners of animago AWARD 2016. 

Best Still 2016

„52Hz“, Cornelius Dämmrich, Germany

Best Visual Effects 2016

„Captain America - Civil War“, RISE | Visual Effects Studios, Germany

Best Game Cinematic 2016

„For Honor“, Unit Image, Ubisoft, France

Best Short Film 2016

„Uncanny Valley“, 3DAR, Federico Heller, Argentina

Best Advertising Production 2016

„Face the Darkness“, Andreas Bruns, Philipp Walz, Carl Schröter, Francesco Faranna, Emanuel Fuchs, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Best Character 2016

„Alike“, Daniel Martínez Lara,Rafa Cano Méndez, La Fiesta Producciones Cinematograficas, Spain

Best Visualization 2016

„A Guide To Happy“, Panoply Creative, Great Britain

Best Young Production 2016

„Garden Party“, Théophile Dufresne, Florian Babikian, Gabriel Grapperon, Lucas Navarro, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Claire, MOPA, France

Jury´s Prize 2016

„Ma'agalim“, Uri Lotan, Yoav Shtibelman, Jane Bordeaux, Israel

Best Motion Design 2016

„Urban Surfaces“, Sebastian Lange (Qu-int), Peter Hankowiak (AV Medien), Germany

Architecture Prize ``Film`` presented by DETAIL 2016

„Spatial Bodies“, AUJIK, Stefan Larsson, Japan

Architecture Prize ``Still`` presented by DETAIL 2016

„Arrival“, nookta, Bahadir Özbek, Marvin Philipp, Germany

Anniversary Prize 20 Years animago AWARD

„Assassin’s Creed: Revelations“, Digic Pictures, Hungary

In 2016, following experts examined and rated the entered projects together with our jury chairman Günter Hagedorn. Thank you so much for your continued support!

Pablo Bach (Founder and Managing Director LIGA 01, Hamburg), Maggy Fischer (Head of Post-Production NEVEREST, Munich), Mirja Fürst (Editor DIGITAL PRODUCTION), Sinje Gebauer (Freelance VFX & CG Producer), Elisa Krenz (Freelance VFX & CG Producer), Michael C. Müller (Manager Creation Technologies adidas AG, Herzogenaurach), Rolf Mütze (Co-Founder and Managing Director LAVAlabs moving images, Dusseldorf), Juri Stanossek (VFX Supervisior Mackevision Medien Design, Stuttgart) und Fuat Yüksel (Houdini FX TD Trixter Film, Munich).

We also wish to thank both our guest jurors Silke Schmidt (Department of Film Policy and Audiovisual Media, Bavarian State Ministry) and Aline-Florence Buttkereit (MedienNetzwerk Bayern).